What wasn’t I thinking?

What wasn’t I thinking? No, this title question does not contain a typo, though I will admit the sentence structure is a bit awkward. I could have just as easily asked what was I thinking, but unfortunately I was not thinking at all. And the fact of the matter is I missed out on something that is really good for me because I never really took the time to “get it.” I’m not talking about a pot of gold under the rainbow or a get-rich-quick formula, so don’t run the other way. Let me explain about what I neglected. It’s so simple that it is embarrassing, but perhaps it could help you as well.

bottled-water1Of course I know about the value of drinking water, and I agree wholeheartedly. I see the health benefits. I understand the science. So why am I not drinking more of this healthy liquid? Am I just too lazy? Perhaps that’s a factor, but the bottom line to my discovery is that I’m just too cheap. Here’s what I found.

I buy bottled water to pack in my husband’s lunch. I did not purchase it for my consumption because why should I pay extra when I have water running from my tap? But the convenience of the bottled water appealed to me when I was recovering from a bad cold and truly felt dehydrated. I grabbed one of the bottles from the fridge and in no time at all had emptied it. No effort involved, and I was truly refreshed. Yet this is not the part where I “get it.”

While getting ready for the day, my thoughts turned to water – who knows why I’m thinking about bottled water? I really do have blonde roots, but I digress … again. Anyway, as I was thinking about drinking more water, I thought about how much I enjoyed being able to grab a bottle rather than getting a glass and filling it from the fridge. I considered that I would do it more if it weren’t for the cost. – Drum roll, please. This is where the light bulb went on. I could buy a whole case of water for the price of a package of cookies.

This led me to the web to see if this were really true, and guess what I found. You can buy 35, 16.9 ounce bottles of water this week at Giant for $3.99. This breaks down to a total of 591.5 ounces for $3.99.  Also this week, Giant is offering a sale on Chips Ahoy cookies. For $5.00, you can get 2 packages weighing 15.25 ounces each or a total of 30.5 ounces for your $5 bill. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to discover which purchase makes a better financial investment – I already knew the water was better for me than the cookies.

I can’t be the only one who makes obvious discoveries so late in life, but you have to admit, the awkward title of this blog is right on target.

2 thoughts on “What wasn’t I thinking?

  1. Pam, I struggle with all of the waste/trash from bottled water, but I still buy it because it’s healthy and does refresh you. And it’s very convenient to grab and go!

Leave a Reply

