What kind of day was it?

How was my day? I woke up this morning though the night’s darkness lingered for a short while. As it began to fade, the sun remained hidden behind clouds of rain. I didn’t much feel like smiling. I had much to do and little time to do it. I had to go out, and the raw wind stung my face as I crossed the parking lot to attend a meeting. When I came out again, pin-sized balls of frozen ice pelted my raincoat as I rushed for my car. Was this going to be like Alexander’s terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day? Should I move to Australia?*

I said I didn’t feel like smiling, but I chose to let a few cross my lips, and others, with hurts deeper than my own, smiled back. It made a difference. If only I could remember to do that every day. It could make a huge impact. I could also include thoughtful acts of kindness or even a bigger effort to help the less fortunate.

And if I did it another day and another? I might make the dash between the day I was born and the day I die really worthwhile. Click here to view the poem, The Dash. It might encourage you as much as it did me. By the way, the sun actually peeked through about three in the afternoon. I canceled my flight to Australia.

 

*Judith Vorst’s Alexander’s Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

2 thoughts on “What kind of day was it?

Leave a Reply

