Couch Potatoes Unite!

Been watching the Olympics? Do the athletes’ practice, perseverance and performance put you to shame?

Well, I’m no athlete, but I think I can do a little more than I am right now. All right, I can do a lot more in the realm of exercise and in life itself. Anyone out there with me on this? I know I’m not alone. The US Army is looking for a few good men, but I’m looking for a few couch potatoes who’d like to get off the sofa and make a difference for the good. Would that be you?

I’m not talking about a revolution, per se, but a group of like-minded people who want to accomplish something, maybe even something great. Things like this start small, most often with just one. So if someone is ready to pick my husband up off the floor from the shock, I’ll volunteer to be the first. How’s that for decisive?

We’ll still talk, but we may have to slow the chatter down a bit until our walk catches and matches our pace. All those great ideas we get along the way? We’ll write them down so they’re not lost and review them, perhaps weekly. I’m just saying. Ideas are good, but they might get in our way. We’ll start with one good idea, focus on it and run. But here’s the deal. We’ve got to figure out a way to measure our results. If we can’t measure them, how will we know if we’re successful? And what will keep us from returning to the couch? Ah, there’s nothing like a deadline to keep us on track and add a sense of accountability.

Just think. If it catches on, we could shake the world. Fellow couch potatoes, unite!

Leave a Reply

