Just drink it

Are you interested in losing weight, having younger-looking skin, and having more energy? Who isn’t, right?

If I told you there is something that could help in all three of those areas, would you be interested? And if this commodity were easily accessible at practically no cost would I have your attention? The fact is, we – you and I – already have it in our houses, but we fail to use it to its full advantage. You may have guessed already that I’m talking about water.

It’s time for a true confession. It’s hard for me to drink it straight. When it’s hot outside and I’ve worked up a sweat, there’s nothing better than a cool glass of water to quench my thirst. Yet for some reason, I do not turn to this precious and valuable commodity at other times. It’s not my first choice. I’d rather have a cup of coffee or tea or flavor it with lemon and sugar to make lemonade. I figure you start out with water, so I should get the same benefits, right? Wrong. Instead of taking advantage of this natural appetite suppressant, I’ve been hindering my chances of losing unwanted pounds by adding extra calories. Oops! A hole just popped up in my logic.

Here’s something else I have learned. Pangs of hunger may not really be a craving for food, but in fact a symptom of dehydration and a body’s cry for water!  By not drinking enough water, my body actually goes to plan B to try to obtain some from food. Here I am with more calories and the ensuing pounds.

Water actually satisfies my body’s needs and provides a feeling of being full so that I don’t look for snacks. That’s a good benefit with little effort and no huge price tag. And there’s more. Drinking water can actually boost my metabolism by making my in-body furnace burn fat more efficiently. Just increasing my intake of water by 1.5 liters per day will burn an extra 17,400 calories which equates to a weight loss of approximately 5 pounds. 1.5 liters per day is equivalent to approximately 51 ounces or 6.34 cups. Hey, that’s doable.

There are so many more benefits we can gain from drinking water, but alas I’ll wait for another time. But here’s one you may not have thought about.  When you choose to get your spiritual nourishment from sources other than the Bible, you just get a “watered-down” version rather than the full blessing God intends. Just as I missed the health benefits of drinking pure water when I chose tea or lemonade, you may not get all that God wants to reveal if you depend totally on a godly speaker or author rather than going directly to the Scriptures. Just a thought. Now I’m off to get a glass of water.

2 thoughts on “Just drink it

Leave a Reply

